Grayson County Historical Society Local Links Image Archives Events and Tours Buildings Publications Hours Contact Info Home

The one-room log cabin on the grounds of the Jack Thomas House was erected by Burl St. Clair and others. The logs came from the Simeon Buchanan two-story log house, which was on Mr. St. Clair's property, near Falls of Rough. The original log house had two stories, with two rooms downstairs and two rooms upstairs. There was a chimney at either end of the house. Due to the bad condition of many of the logs, Mr. St. Clair decided it would be best just to salvage the best logs and one chimney, and construct a one-room log house to give the schoolchildren in the area, as well as the public, an opportunity to experience what it would have been like to have lived in one.

Simeon Buchanan, a relative of President James Buchanan, acquired his land in Grayson County in 1834, and was listed on the tax roll. By the next year, he had finished building a new log home. The date 1835 and initials "N.W." were carved into one of the logs of the cabin. These can still be faintly seen today. It is assumed that initials "N.W." were the initials of someone who helped him erect the log house.

This log house is also open for tour and features many old farming and housekeeping tools, including an old spinning wheel and a handmade loom that is over 100 years old.

2002, Grayson County Historical Society. All rights reserved.